Defense Attorney for Sexual Assault in Milwaukee
Know the laws to prevent sexual assault conviction
Sexual assault is not to be taken lightly. The penalties for such crimes can cost you decades in prison and fines up to hundreds of thousands of dollars. If you or a loved one has been arresting for a sexual assault accusation, it’s not too late. Hiring an experienced defense attorney is your best bet for proving your innocence and clearing your name.
It's important to know sexual assault laws before you get started with your defense. Sexual assault occurs in four different levels.
First Degree Sexual Assault
Maximum 40 years in prison. Includes non-consensual sexual intercourse or contact that:
- Causes bodily harm or pregnancy
- Is accomplished by using a weapon
- Aided by another person using force
Second Degree Sexual Assault
Maximum 20 years in prison, and/or $10,000 fine. Includes non-consensual sexual intercourse or contact that:
- Causes lesser bodily harm than First Degree Sexual Assault
- Is with a person who is unconscious, mentally ill, etc.
- Is with a person younger than age 16
Third Degree Sexual Assault
Maximum 5 years in prison, and/or $10,000 fine. Includes:
- Sexual intercourse without consent
- Sexual contact without consent
Fourth Degree Sexual Assault
Maximum 9 months in county jail, and/or $10,000 fine. Includes any kind of non-consensual contact with a person in an attempt to:
- Arouse defendant
- Sexually humiliate victim
Sexual Assault of a Minor requires mandatory reporting
Wisconsin law has what is called a mandatory reporting system. This requires all such accusations made by a minor are taken seriously and investigated by law enforcement. Once a minor makes this type of allegation, it doesn't take long before things become very serious and criminal charges are filed. Once this happens, it becomes very difficult for the minor to admit their accusations are not true.
The most common sexual assault charges involving a minor include, but are not limited to, the following:
1st Degree Sexual Assault of a Minor Child (Child Under 13)
Under Wisconsin law, first degree sexual assault of a child is defined as any contact of a sexual nature with a person who is under the age of 13 years.
First degree sexual assault of a child is a Class B Felony subject to 60 years in prison.
2nd Degree Sexual Assault of a Minor Child (Child Under 16)
Under Wisconsin law, second degree sexual assault of a child is defined as any sexual contact with a person who is older than 13 years but less than 16 years.
Second degree sexual assault of a child is a Class C Felony subject to imprisonment for up to 40 years, fines up to $100,000, or both.
Sexual Assault of a Child (Child Over 16 Years)
Sexual assault of a child who is at least 16 years old but less than 18 years old is a Class A Misdemeanor, which carries a possible sentence to jail for 9 months, fines up to $10,000 or both.